first_imgFAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – A total of 125 student-athletes from 11 member institutions are set to represent the Southland Conference at the 2019 NCAA South Central Regional Cross Country Championships Friday morning. Events will be hosted by the University of Arkansas at AgriPark on the Razorbacks’ campus.The women’s 6k event is slated for an 11 a.m. CT start time, while the men’s 10k race will begin at noon. The top two finishing teams of each event will automatically qualify for the national championships. Four of the top individuals of each event, who do not finish on a qualifying team, will also advance to the national championships. Among each of the men’s and women’s divisions, the remaining 13 at-large teams and two additional individuals will be selected by the NCAA Division I Cross Country Subcommittee. The NCAA national championships will be hosted by Indiana State University Saturday, Nov. 23 at Lavern Gibson Cross Country Course in Terre Haute, Ind.Abilene Christian, UIW, McNeese and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi lead the way with eight participants each heading into the men’s regional championship. Lamar and Stephen F. Austin will compete with seven runners apiece, followed by six competitors from Nicholls and five runners from Southeastern Louisiana. New Orleans and Sam Houston State will each compete with two runners.The Lamar men will look to continue their success from the Southland Championship where they claimed a first-place team finish along with a first-place individual finish by junior Jordan Rowe. Rowe crossed the finish line at the conference championship with a 24:01.7 clip in the 8k race. The Cardinals enter the regional championship ranked fourth in the latest South Central regional poll.Nicholls and Stephen F. Austin lead the way on the women’s side with nine runners each to mark the largest rosters among competing Southland teams. Abilene Christian, Central Arkansas, UIW and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi will take on the field with eight runners apiece. McNeese has entered seven participants, while New Orleans rounds out the Southland representatives with two runners.The Bears are riding a high heading into Friday’s event after capturing their first Southland Conference title in program history. Central Arkansas landed five runners among the top-20 finishers to defeat SFA by a six-point margin at the conference championship.Arina Kleshchukova will also be in attendance for the Privateers after claiming Athlete of the Year honors at the Southland Championship. Kleshchukova has grabbed four first-place individual finishes this season, the latest coming at the Southland Championship where she clocked in at 20:50.5 in the 6k race.For complete race-day details, visit the 2019 NCAA South Central Regional Championships homepage. Southland Conference Women’s Entries (64)Abilene Christian (8) – Briahna Gerlach, Carnley Graham, Hannah Marut, Loren Rivera, Irene Rono, Sarah Wagler, Grace White, Lindsey WhiteCentral Arkansas (8) – Bekah Bostian, Julia Clark, Casey Gore, Gracie Hyde, Tamara Reeves, Sara Steimel, Kennedy Timmerman, Erin WoodwardUIW (8) – Ivette Alcanter, Dominique Allen, Maryn DeMaio, Alia Henderson, Megan Hernandez, Maddie Marrone, Alexis Quintero, Katherine RamirezLamar (5) – Katie Astin, Julie Emmerson, Faith Outing, Mya Taylor, Katy WhiteoakMcNeese (7) – Bonnie Andres, Jessica Fox, Ciara Gilroy, Sophie Grabner, Alissa Lander, Marta Lukijaniuk, Holley RobertsNew Orleans (2) – Arina Kleshchukova, Anna MartinNicholls (9) – Eleana Callejas, Skyler Goodman, Willow Johnson, Faith Keter, Joyce Kiplagat, Augusta Marie Christensen, Lara Reifers, Elsa Rijpstra, Myah RobichauxStephen F. Austin (9) – Isabel Borrego, Meredith Clayton, Madison Compass, Claire Crone, LaSean Davis, Megan Eichler, Kelsey Ramirez, Taryn Surratt, Rachel TaylorTexas A&M-Corpus Christi (8) – Alana Blankenship, Valentina Campos, Cambria Clark, Aeriel Garcia, Quin Johnson, Ashley King, Marissa Martinez, Jasmine Perez Southland Conference Men’s Entries (61)Abilene Christian (8) – Levi Chambers, Seth Crockett, Colton Gates, Trevon Hardy, Kevin Kipkosgei, Denis Lagat, Conner Miller, Gabriel TrevinoUIW (8) – Ryan Garza, Christopher Gonzalez, Spencer Herbstritt, Cash Kunkel, Aldo Nava, Nathan Perez, Steven Quintanilla, Armando VillarrealLamar (7) – Matthew Arnold, Liam Burthem, Kyle Garcia, Jack Gooch, Harry Halford, Declan Neary, Jordan RoweMcNeese (8) – Miguel Lopez-Barrera, Joey Croft, Aaron Gilliam, Luke Horgan, Henry Kiplagat, Markus Kopp, Damian O’Boyle, Daniel SainaNew Orleans (2) – David Hidalgo, Kolyn SaltzmanNicholls (6) – Hunter Batt, Tyler Granger, Olari Livingston, Octavio Vasquez Tilley, Preston Whisenhunt, Dustin WorleySam Houston State (2) – Andrew Bosquez, Austin ZirkelSoutheastern Louisiana (5) – Zachary Barthel, Anthony Cordero, Adam Cortez, Shea Foster, Thom ReyndersStephen F. Austin (7) – Pedro Fores, Parker Jones, Titus Kiplagat, Ben Murphy, Maxwell Murphy, Michael Urbina, Yoel YoelTexas A&M-Corpus Christi (8) – Andrew Gandy, Hunter Haas, Brandon Hutto, Matthew Lara, Juan Salinas, Marek Spriesterbach, Tristan Stellmach, Isaac Vargaslast_img


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *